If you are convicted of 11 points or more within 18 months or if you are convicted of a combination of 3 speeds and/or driving related misdemeanors within 18 months, even if you do not received 11 points, your license gets suspended. If you take a defensive driving course before you are convicted of the points, your point limit extends from 11 points to 14. The defensive driving course does not help with 3 speeds and/or driving related misdemeanors within 18 month.
Additionally, the speed directly affects the penalties you face. All tickets generally have 3 fines. “The Fine” that Judge sets with a minimum and a maximum, the “Court Surcharge” which is a set fee depending on what find of ticket you are facing, and the “Driver Assessment Fee” which is dependent on the amount of points which you have accumulated over the last 18 months. “The Fine” for speeding in a regular roadway or highway is as follows:
If you are pleading guilty to the second speeding ticket within a 18 month period or you received the speeding ticket in a school or work zone these fines may be higher going up to $1,575.00.
With every moving violation (even repeated minor infractions) that you are convicted of, you can expect more points to be added to your license. If you get 6 or more points within an 18 month period, the DMV will fine you a surcharge known as the “Driver Responsibility Assessment.” For drivers with 6 points, the fine is $300 and for every additional point after 6 an additional $75 fine will be added. This fine is issued against a driver even if they have an out of state license. This fine can not be paid to the Court in which one is convicted however it can be paid online at https://transact.dmv.ny.gov/DriverRespAssessment.
These penalties can be modified at any time therefore it is crucial that you consult with a skilled New York speeding ticket lawyer each time you receive a speeding ticket.
In addition to the fine amounts the village or town judge may use his or her discretion to imprison anyone speeding 11-30 MPH over the speed limit for up to 15 days in jail (very rare) and 30 days in jail for 31 MPH and over (also not common). if you are charged with a high speed it is very important to contact an experienced traffic ticket lawyer to advice you of the particular habits of the Judge you will be facing upon sentencing.
Contact The Speeding Ticket Lawyer
If you have further questions regarding speeding tickets or any other kind of traffic ticket, do not hesitate to contact a skilled New York traffic ticket attorney. Our office can be reached by calling 800-464-8269 or by completing our online contact form. We offer free initial consultations and accept credit cards and checks as payment for services.