Driving with a suspended driver’s license or Registration is a driving-related crime/misdemeanor and can result in arrest, a criminal record and jail time, and a huge insurance increase to your vehicles. While driving with without insurance is not a misdemeanor, being found guilty of driving with suspended insurance will result in a 1 year revocation of your license, and up to $1500 in fines and civil fees.
If you are arrested for driving with a suspended license you can be charged with a misdemeanor in the third degree and face 30 days of jail time. If you are suspended with 3 or more suspensions you are facing a misdemeanor in the second degree with a max of 180 days of jail time. If you reach the magic number of 10 suspensions and are arrested for driving you can be charged with a class E Felony which carries a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 4 years.
If you are stopped by the police you should never talk with the Officer or Trooper, because they are trying to chat you up and use your own words against you. The police are trained to interrogate motorists by making innocent sounding conversation. While conversations are not admissible in Court because it is hearsay, confections made by a defendant are an exception to the rule.
Here are a number of reasons you should never talk to the police, parts 1 and 2:
At his New York law firm, NY violation lawyer Mr Goldstein helps his clients by utilizing the legal system to restore their licenses, and by defending them against charges of driving while their license is suspended. While not every license can be saved, most licenses can be restored by paying the correct court, requesting a restoration, requesting a conditional use license, or by correcting the record in DMV.
Are you driving with a suspended license? Did you already lose your license?
Are you suspended are trying to get your license back?
Are you not sure why your license is being suspended?
Did one of your workers lose their license?
Were you attested for driving with a suspended or revoked license?
Is there a warrant for your arrest?
Do you have tickets you don’t know how to pay?
A law just went into effect in New York State that the DMV “Driver Improvement “ can look back at your convictions 25 years, to decide if you should have the privilege of a driving license. Convictions do not go off your record in 25 years in this regard. This law is retroactive! This law is administrative in nature. The law in already in effect. While there are law suites being filled against the state for passing this new law, there in no indication that this new law will go away.
Call the Lawyer Zev Goldstein at 845-371-8457 today for a free consultation, and find out what your options are. With 5 years as a prosecutor in the city of Albany, and 28 years in private practice, NY ticket violation attorney Mr Goldstein may provide you with quality legal advice and defense.